It’s all relative with turkeys.

Some random things:

** My father called me this morning from North Carolina.  He wanted me to call Wade to tell him that he knows how to make real pork rinds now.  Also, he learned how to make fried candy bars.  I think these skills will come in handy in his retirement. 

** I went to bed at 10 pm last night and woke up at 12:03 am.  I cannot properly express to you the thrill I had knowing that it was so “early” in my sleep! 

** Every day on my way to work and home from work, in the same spot (one in the morning and another in the evening) I see a turkey.  I’ve been traveling this route now for over 2 months and I see her every day.  How do I know it’s a “her” you may ask.  Because she’s not that pretty.  The girls are uglier than the boys…which is all relative because we are talking about turkeys. 

** On Saturday I cleaned out some of our barn and picked something up by a beehive (the hive was built inside it).  Good thing they are hibernating now.  Nonetheless, I screamed.  Good news though – I had zero run-ins with any other rodent or arachnid…a perpetual fear I carry with me when in the barn.

** Yesterday morning there was frost on my windshield.

~ by zuzu on October 15, 2007.

3 Responses to “It’s all relative with turkeys.”

  1. I’m not ready for frost.

    I lived in a rural area growing up and once a school bus hit a wild turkey. A cop came and threw it in the back of his truck.

    We heard later he had turkey for dinner.

  2. When i was going to high school, we used to use the good old excuse, “sorry i was late, there was a cow in the road!” Sometimes there really was…honest!

  3. […] normally I don’t, but today I got to see two fantastic characters…in addition to the turkey who […]

Leave a Reply

 
