Bird. Bird. Bird is the word.

There’s a new woman in my husband’s life.  She’s been around now for about a week and he is obsessed with her.  Every opportunity he gets, he checks his email to see if she’s written back to him.  He has me check his email when he can’t.  He actually answers his cell phone when it rings (for those of you who know him, you know this is huge).  You’d think this would bother, but I’m really fine with it.  In fact, I am welcoming his persual of this woman.  I hope they have a chance to meet.  Would you care to know why? 

Because she has “The One.”  The Land Rover that usurps all Land Rovers. 

Do I need to back up a bit?

Wade. My husband. The love of my life.  The man has a problem.  He is addicted to Land Rovers.  We currently own four.  One of my first memories of him is sitting in Land Rover that he fixed up and being bounced all over the roads because there were no shocks.  It was early then…I had no idea what I was getting myself into! 

The purpose of the purchases was to get a solid working Range Rover or similar engine, etc. and put this on under the body of an old-school military or first series Land Rover.  So the acquisitions began. 

It’s important for you to know that Wade is 100% capable of completing this project.  That is, if there were time.  There’s just not time. 

Then along came the woman. 

The woman who may change it all. 

She has a 1950-something Land Rover with the engine of a newer Discovery. It’s I love it and I haven’t even seen it. 

Here are the reasons I love it:

1.  It’s bright yellow.

2.  Its name is Big Bird.  (I say “BIG Bird” and Wade says “Big BIRD” so this amuses me)

3.  Its currently located in my hometown, which I consider a “sign.”

4.  Because it is The One, this means all the non-Ones can go away!!!!! 

This will be in addition to the three cars we got rid of this week (another story for another time), we’ll get rid of another 4.  Our yard may actually look more like a farm than a car dealership.  And for this, I am grateful. 

~ by zuzu on October 25, 2007.

2 Responses to “Bird. Bird. Bird is the word.”

  1. Good luck with the ONE! Sounds beautiful!

  2. Ah the ONE. So happy you found her! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
