How is it that my cats are still overweight?

It’s Monday and I’m back to work and have nothing but fond memories of DW2.  Despite my excitement in my previous post, I did have some anxiety (Of course I did.  Have you met me?) about DW2.  The reason being, DW1 didn’t actually do great things for our marriage.  W & I were completely at each others’ throats by the end of DW1 – the main cause is we have completely different styles when it comes to tackling such a project.  Anyway, we agreed to go into DW2 with the mindset of not judging or criticising each other and I’m happy to say we were just as happy last night as we were at the start of DW2.  That was the best part of the weekend.

The next best part: We threw away a lot of crap.  Literally tons.  It’s too soon to know how many tons but I will let you know (DW1 we had 3.5 tons in the first round!). 

Part of the process included cleaning out our laundry room/mud room/where everything goes to die room.  The room is huge!  I had no idea!  It’s practically outside, so I was not thrilled with this project.  Being so close to the outside, yet sort of inside means that rodents (mice, specifically) like to hang out in there (have I mentioned I live on a farm?).  I did not encounter any mice – past or present tense.  I DID encounter plenty of spiders which resulted in me abandoning the project midway and leaving it all to W…even though it was my idea to clean that room.  The result of the encounters was a traumatic dream about a rainbow colored spider that was very dangerous. 

On Sunday, I decided to take on my exercise room/cat room/”wrap” room.  Exercise because there is a dusty elliptical trainer in there (it’s not dusty anymore!).  Cat because that’s where the cats eat, drink & you-know… And wrap because that’s where I wrap all presents and store all pre-purchased gifts and re-gifts.  I didn’t think this room was going to be a time-consuming one.  I was wrong.  It took hours.  I threw away some re-gifts (like a 2006 calendar and a stuffed snowman with a brick in its bum so it won’t fall over) and a lot of other stuff that I had no idea existed. 

I discovered in the bottom of my gift bin that the cats have been hording their food as if they plan to hibernate.  There was a full layer of cat kibble in the bottom of the bin.  Just for a visual: the bin is about 2′ x 4′ is a good 8-10 feet away from their food.  Next I discovered that they have dropped an equal amount of kibble behind their food platform (up high away from bouncing beagles) – never to be seen or heard from again.  This will not help with the aforementioned rodents.  This raised the question – how is it that these cats are still chubby if they hide half their food?

kitties.jpg

~ by zuzu on November 12, 2007.

4 Responses to “How is it that my cats are still overweight?”

  1. Are they sitting on clean laundry? Because that would make the most sense.

  2. They put the cat food there as a diversionary (sp!?) tactic. It was designed to distract you from the empty pizza boxes behind their litter boxes.

  3. Love the b/w kitty! I have one, too. He is also a chubby kitty.

    😀

  4. I saw a 28-pound kitty this weekend. Now THAT was a chubby kitty. I don’t think she was hiding any of her food.

Leave a Reply

 
