Happy Birthday!

Today is my love’s 35th birthday. 

I asked him last night if he thought he was going to have a mid-life crisis and he told me he already did.  “When was this?”  “When I dropped out of technical school to become a boat builder.”  It’s a mid-life crisis that worked out for the best, I think, as it has led to his great happiness – and mine!

I talk about Wade frequently in my posts, but I haven’t really given you the whole Wade picture.  I won’t bore you with all the details that really are only entertaining to he & I, but I’d like to give you an intro to the love of my life.

Wade and I worked together at Mystic Seaport.  By “worked together”, I mean that we received a paycheck from the same establishment, but we had zero interaction with each other.  One day there was an article in the local paper about one of the boat building classes that Wade teaches (*note: full credit for publicity goes to Mike!) and he sent out a request for copies of the article for his grandmother. 

To say that Wade is an amazing writer is not doing him justice.  He has a way with words and I was immediately drawn to him…via his email request.  We started conversing over work email (*scandal!*) and yada, yada, yada….we fell in love.  Two years late (almost) we were engaged and one year after that we were married.

That’s the gist of how we got together.  Again, I don’t want to bore you with the sappy, mushy stuff.

Here are some of my favorite things about Wade and some of the many, many reasons I love him:

*He can make pretty much anything from scratch & he can fix anything.
*He’ll do most of the laundry – all but the folding – which is great because I HATE laundry.
*He taught me how to fix important things like the air filter in my car or the brake pads.
*It takes him 45 minutes to make Kraft macaroni & cheese out of a box because he likes to “doctor it up.”
*He didn’t propose to me until he got the blessing of my parents.  Once he had the blessing he couldn’t wait another second and he was so excited that he pulled the truck up on our front lawn instead of our driveway. 
*When he gets up at 4 AM to go to the bathroom, he makes coffee so it’s ready when I get up.
*He is 100% in support of my shoe buying habit.
*When I tease him or if we are play-fighting, he’ll try to convince me he’s really mad, but his nostrils flare and I know he’s faking it. 
*He’ll take care of the dogs’ “eye goop” because it grosses me out.
*He thinks a grown man should know how to drink & enjoy scotch.  He tries, but so far he can’t stand the stuff!
*He reads the same book over and over and over again until he knows every word of it. 
*When I had a reeeeeeeally bad job and came home crying every night, he encouraged me to quit and said we’d “make it work.” 
*My family loves him.
*He loves me. 

Happy birthday!!   

favwedding.jpg

~ by zuzu on December 4, 2007.

9 Responses to “Happy Birthday!”

  1. So, yes, I do take credit for this wonderful marriage! Happy Birthday, Wade!

  2. Awwwwww! Happy birthday, Wade!

  3. So sweet!! Hope he had a great birthday!

  4. Aww, tear. He is so sweet!

    I love this one:
    When he gets up at 4 AM to go to the bathroom, he makes coffee so it’s ready when I get up.

    What a guy!

  5. Awesome! Happy Birthday Wade!!

  6. You guys are so adorable. HAPPY B-DAY WADE! And the eye goop… I hate that stuff. Icky-pooh!

    Maybe you two should come over and enjoy some whiskey with us instead. We have friends that do the Scotch thing, but I prefer whiskey. Does that make me a redneck?

    Yee-haw! Gimme some cubes and crown royale and I’m a happy camper!

    :-0

  7. Beautiful. All of it!

  8. So so sweet. And what a happy, wonderful wedding photo, wheee!

  9. […] the category “Wade” there is very little mention of our story with the exception of a brief mention last year on his birthday.  How very fitting that my love will be celebrating his 36th birthday on […]

Leave a Reply

 
