A shout out to the nice guy

Yesterday was interesting.  Snow. Snow. Snow. Snow. Snow.  And that was before 11 AM.  My office was closed early and I hit the road around 11:30 AM to head home and ride out the snow storm on the couch with Wade, dogs, and hot chocolate (or wine). 

That is not what happened.

I pulled out of the parking garage and almost wiped out.  Oh, I think…this is quite slippery.  Drive along some more.  I can feel the wheels spinning and I’m going nowhere fast.  Then I finally got moving and was going somewhere…..very slowly. 

Drive some more. 

Hmmm (me thinks), I didn’t know this road had a hill on it.  A very teeny, non-noticeable to the naked eye hill.  Right in the middle of the highway.  What’s this? Why am I not moving?  Why is the car starting to go in the direction?  Quick!  Pull over! 

I decide the best plan is to sit and wait patiently.  Surely if I sit there for a few minutes the traffic will clear and I’ll be able to get some traction on the packed snow.  Yes?  No.

I’m stuck.  Like a fly in very cold honey, I’m stuck. 

Never fear, here comes a cop!  Yay!  I’m rescued. 

“Hi, what seems to be the problem?”

“I’m stuck.”

“Ah…..well people think you’re an accident so you’re slowing traffic down.”

“Yeah….well, sorry.  I’m stuck.”

“Well I guess if you don’t feel comfortable driving then….”

“No.  I’m perfectly comfortable.  I’m stuck.”

“Ok, well, be careful.  I have to go clear accidents.”

“Bye then.”

I sit for another 20 minutes or so (Wade is on his way, but he’s pretty far away). 

Along comes another vehicle that has red & blue flashing lights.  Yay!  I’m rescued! 

“Hi.  You’re stuck.”

“Yes, yes, I am.  Can you help me?”

“Do you want me to push you?”

“Yes, please.”

He tries to push…no luck.

“You’re stuck.  Are you ok to stay here?”

I am ok, so I send him on his way.  He was nice.  He at least tried to be helpful. 

I’ll just listen to this book I have on CD.  Ooooo!  I have chips too.  Who knew?  This isn’t so bad.  I’m warm.  I’m comfortable.  I have sustenance (because it’s been a whole 2 hours since I had something to eat).  I’m good.

Wade is stuck in traffic.  He’s going to be awhile now.  No worries.  I’m goooo-ooood.

Along comes truck number 3.  Yay!  I’m rescued!

“Hey, wanna tow?” 

“I’m just stuck.”

“Want me to pull you out?”

“YES!”

Nice guy (with NO COAT!!!!!) starts attaching straps to my car and in no time we are ready to roll.  Literally.  He rolls me out into the street.  Um….yeah….I’m still stuck, sir.  I can’t get up the hill.

Nice guy comes back. 

“Do you want me to pull you up the hill?”

“YES!”

I’m saved.  Nice guy drives in front of me for awhile and I’m headed home.  Three hours later. 

So here’s the thing:  Nice guy wouldn’t take money.  He was wearing a sweatshirt and a hat that had two company names on them, which I can’t locate.  So this goes out to him:

THANK YOU!!!!!  
It’s so great that there are nice strangers in this world who are willing to stop and help another stranger in the middle of a snowstorm. 
THANK YOU!!!!!


oh, and cop?  you’re not very good at your job of helping people.

~ by zuzu on December 14, 2007.

4 Responses to “A shout out to the nice guy”

  1. It’s so nice to know there’s good people like that out there.

  2. Glad you got home safely.

    I found one of those nice guys, once, too, on route 128 at 11 p.m. with a flat tire.

    Thanks, nice guys!

  3. What’s up with the non-helpful cops? Thank God for the nice guys!

  4. […] to have those little experiences that just brighter ones day.  I shouted out awhile back about the nice guy who helped me in the snow storm.  Today I’m shouting out to another wonderful […]

Leave a Reply

 
