Oh where, oh where has it gone?

I’m going to the Bahamas in July.  My best friend is getting married and she decided on a destination wedding.  I’m super excited about it.  Not so much the part about being on the equator in the middle of the summer, but the part about her getting married and being able to celebrate with her.

So, I’m not sure if you’re aware, but in order to get to the Bahamas these days, a US citizen is required to have a passport.  The only other country I’ve been to is Canada and at that time I was only required to have my birth certificate.  As to not risk the passport being delayed, I went to CVS yesterday and got my photo taken and picked up an application for the passport.  Easy breezy.  Now I just need to officially apply at the post office on Monday and I’ll be good to go.

Relaying this to Wade, it occurs to me that he’s had his passport a long time.  I asked him when it expires and he said he didn’t know but he’d check.

Now it just so happens that we stumbled across his passport not too long ago.  It was still in the glove compartment of my old car from the aforementioned trip to Canada. 

I knew exactly where it was.  It was en route to the fire-proof box.  Or was it in the fire-proof box.  Or was it in the filing cabinet.  No, if I was headed for the filing cabinet I would have put it in the fire-proof box because that is safer.  But it’s not in the fire-proof box.  Oh, I must have left it on the hall desk because that’s where I had it last.  Oh, my.  Look at those stacks of papers.  Maybe I mixed it in.  Nope.  Maybe I took it to the “things that need to be filed” pile.  That MUST be where it is.  Seven times through the pile and I am fairly sure that is not where it is.  I’ll check the fire-proof box again.  There is nothing in the box except birth certificates, car titles, the deed to the house and ALL other valuable info….WHY is the passport not in there????? 

I give up and determine that, although I won’t be able to sleep because of this, I do need to go to bed.  I have dreams about it.  I don’t find it in my dreams either.

Ok, today is a new day and I’m going to go to the fire-proof box and it’ll be there!  Nope.

Search, search, search.  This seems as good a time as any to get rid of these piles.  Sort, sort, file, file, trash, trash, more trash, expired coupons, file, file, oooo…I should pay that bill.  No passport. 

One more look in the box.

Back to the hall desk.  Sort, sort, sort, trash, trash.  What’s this note.  Of, it’s from Crazy saying “I’m leaving. I took the dog. Here’s your passport.”  Are you kidding me??  (I swear I found that note!)

I look down at the floor, defeated.  Oh, what’s this?  A white envelope that is momentarily overlooked.  Eh, maybe I’ll just look inside anyway.   It’s the same envelope that travelled to Canada.  Yay!  My search is done! 

And the good news – his doesn’t expire for several more years. 

~ by zuzu on December 28, 2007.

2 Responses to “Oh where, oh where has it gone?”

  1. If your “things to be filed” pile grows bigger than the “things already filed” pile, please let me know. I think this has already happened at work and might takeover at home as well.

    :-0

  2. If only it were the Bahamas, say…Now!

Leave a Reply

 
