Lasagna from an Irish gal.

So a few of you have requested the recipe for the fabulous lasagna.  I’m not going to lie – it was nothing fancy.  Any Italians out there will cringe at what is about to come, I’m sure. The reason?  Because my lasagna is bound together with the wonders that is:  JARRED TOMATO SAUCE.

Brown about eight links of sausage (out of casing) – 4 hot and 4 sweet
Boil water in a big pot.
Place lasagna noodles in the pot in a criss-cross manner so they don’t fall into a giant lasagna noodle stack (I don’t care for the “no-boil” pasta, but that’ll work too).  Cook to al dente because they’ll cook more in the oven.
Drain pasta.
Put a thin layer of sauce (eeeeek! jarred!) on the bottom of lasagna pan.
Layer of noodles.
Layer of Ricotta (mixed with some Parmesan and 2 eggs…you’ll need about 1/2 of a large container of ricotta)
Meat.
Sauce.
“Italian 4-Cheese” shredded cheese…. out of a bag.
Noodles.
Ricotta mixture
Spinach (frozen, then thawed)
Meat.
Sauce….

Continue until you run out of ingredients.  I suggest using a lot of cheese on the top layer as one can never have too much melty yummy cheese. 

Stick it in the over covered with aluminum foil for about 30 minutes.  Remove the foil and wait for bubbly cheesy goodness. 

Simple.  And good. 

If you brown the meat the day before and boil all the noodles at the same time, the whole assemble process can be completed in under 20 minutes.  While talking on the phone.  Hypothetically.

oscar_lasagna.jpg

This is NOT my lasagna, but it looked an awful lot like this.  Except bigger. 
 

~ by zuzu on February 7, 2008.

5 Responses to “Lasagna from an Irish gal.”

  1. feel free to drop off samples! 😉

  2. I hope you took extra lactose pills!

    (And I used jarred sauce too!)

  3. That sounds like my recipe! Except I use burger instead of sausage. YUM!

  4. THANK YOU!!! I was wondering what to make for dinner on Sunday when my lil bros come over. The only problem I have is I want to eat it right now.

    P.S. If I had to make my own sauce I would scrap the whole idea.

  5. i love cooking and i love learn new foods and so thanks for delicious lasagna.

Leave a Reply

 
