A request for an intro to my shoes.

I, like many, including my gal Molly, have a fascination – no, obsession with shoes.  Anna, knowing this, has requesting an intro…

Shoes are beautiful.  They are the accessory of all accessories.  Or they are the building block for all your other clothing to be the accessories.  My shoes are some of my prized possessions.  Recently I made a purchase to assist in making these possession more visible and more inspiring (i.e., “what do I wear today??”).  I bought an over-the-door shoe rack that would hold 36 pairs.

There are two things wrong with said purchase.

1. ) I don’t have a door that opens in the right direction for me to hang such an item.
2. ) 36 pairs??  That is not nearly enough!

What was I thinking?  Well, I had made the purchase, so in the words of my man Tim Gunn, I had to “make it work.” My idea – which was a good one, so I thought – was to hang this device on my wall next to my closet.  I did just that.  Then I arranged a selected 36 pairs and placed them on the rack.  Then I sat back and admired. 

Then the entire thing came crashing down.

Three times I did this.  THREE times!  Then I gave up.

Next I purchased a shelf-like rack that holds 50 pairs of shoes – NOW I’m thinking!  It arrived the next day (thank you eBay) and was promptly assembled and inhabited by my 50 pairs of shoes.  There it sits.  Everyday I admire.  Everyday I think, “oooo….I want to wear those tomorrow” and I build an outfit around it.  It’s a beautiful thing. 

I now introduce you to some of my friends…

7768-559087-d.jpg

Python pumps….different brand, but same shoe.  Ooo-la-la, no?

lively80blkwht1.jpg

These are great, however, mine are better because the hounds-tooth goes down the heel

7954-507679-d.jpg

They are Jessica Simpson.  Don’t judge my by the brand.  Judge me by the beauties on my feet!

shoe1.jpg

Sadly the photo doesn’t do these justice.  I have them in REDHOT RED.  I wore them today actually….

Shoes, meet my blog friends.  Blog friends, meet my shoes.
(sadly, many of my shoes I cannot find on line.  when I find my camera, I’ll take some pictures)

~ by zuzu on February 13, 2008.

7 Responses to “A request for an intro to my shoes.”

  1. I’m clueless when it comes to shoes. These are intriguing, but I have no idea how to put them on with anything.

    Hmmm. Milano Blahniks and naked. Does that work?

  2. This is why we are friends. I am convinced. I cannot wait to see what shoes you wear to the wedding!

    And…I just installed my 36-shoe holder last night! And I stare at them (in color order, natch) and am happy.

    Michael thinks I need to be committed.

  3. Can’t wait to see the 50 shoe display! what a dynamic work of art, I’m sure! (Did you ever read my post on shoes back in Oct? stats say only 6 people viewed it… I’m sure you & Molly inspired it.)

  4. I love shoes. Your post just made me smile. The Jessica Simpson’s are my fav so far. More shoes! Do whatever you have to, bust out your camera, search harder on the internet, but send us more shoes!

  5. Love the houndstooth pair!

  6. ok, so why am i blushing just a little bit right now?! 😉

  7. […] and Elizabeth, these shots are for […]

Leave a Reply

 
