Happy Hour Ham

After work this Friday, a few of us decided to head across the street to a tavern to grab a drink.  We got there towards the end of happy hour, but much to our delight, there was free happy hour food still available and still looking edible.  Among the culinary delicacies were the not-so-unusual:  crackers, cheese, pepperoni, giant sandwiches cut into smaller pieces of the “finger sandwich” variety. 

And a ham.

This ham, actually:

03070819171.jpg
note the Grey Poupon & the small piece of bread for the failed attempt at a ham sandwich

I’m not talking cubed ham or sliced deli ham.  I’m talking about a big ol’ honey ham.  It was on a giant silver platter, displayed on a bed of lettuce. 

After a good laugh at the ham, it was then we started to discuss all the things that weren’t quite right with this picture. 

For instance: 

~ Each person was responsible for obtaining their own ham.  How do you do this?  Well, never fear.  The tavern has provided, for all to use, a butcher knife and a two-tined fork (large grilling-style). We each took turns piling our tiny paper plates with giant ham chunks to share at the table.

~ When you really look at the ham long enough, it is inevitable that you, personally, will want the entire ham on your table.  For comedic purposes if nothing else.  (We being the kind people we are, asked the waitress if we could do so.  We were told that was not permitted.  But the people next to us didn’t ask – they just took it.  So we publicly scolded them until they brought us ham & sandwiches.)

~ Next we dive into the religious aspect of this.  I’m not currently practicing any religion, but I was raised Catholic and am very well aware that during Lent, one does not eat meat on Friday.  Many, many, many people practice this.  In my office alone, about 75% of the people order fish on Fridays during Lent.  Also, although I’m not very familiar, I’m fairly sure that a majority of Jewish people do not eat pig products (please correct me if I’m wrong).  So here we are serving a solid mass of ham and theoretically a majority of the people can’t or will not eat it.

But it’s happy hour.  And it’s a ham.  All the rules go out the window. 

By the way, the ham was REALLY good!

~ by zuzu on March 12, 2008.

5 Responses to “Happy Hour Ham”

  1. I think I would love a happy hour ham. Or, a triple H.

    Love the new look. Sorry I’ve been away. I’m back and ready for action. 😉

  2. OMG! Happy Hour Ham…it is great!! I think break up the wings on Happy Hour!!

  3. I think I’d rather have Happy Hour Grilled Cheese.

    But that’s just me.

  4. Mac-n-cheese with ham? Cheese makes everything even more better!

  5. too funny! Stay out of the bars and drunk-blog with me instead! You’ll have to provide your own ham…

Leave a Reply

 
