From the mind of a 6-year-old.

Wow!  Thank you so much for all the pushes in multiple directions.  There were some really great ideas that should keep me going for awhile. 

Today we’ll take a step back in time nearly 30 years to the beginning of my life.  Mainly Clear Skies asked what my favorite childhood memory is.  To be honest, I don’t know if I could choose just one, but I have many very distinct memories and I’ll be happy to share some of those. 

~    ~    ~    ~    ~

I was just telling someone about this yesterday, actually… 

The first 10 years of my life, I lived in Virginia – right outside Washington, D.C.  This time of year mean one thing for those in DC (and the greater-metro area):  Cherry Blossoms.  It was annual trip into the city to walk along the water or throughout the monuments and admire the blossoms.  At 5 and 6 years old, this was not a good time.  One year, however, there was an event attached to our trip (the event I cannot recall).  My sister, mother, our neighbor and her son, and I went to DC together.  We were dressed up:  I was wearing a light pink dress (to match the blossoms!) a white sweater and white tights.  As children have a tendency to do – especially when 2 are siblings – a fight ensued.  The result of this fight was all three of us falling in a slick of mud.  Not so pink & white now.  I remember walking around through the cherry blossoms with mud all over my dress and tights and a not-so-happy mother.

jefferson_cherry_blossoms.jpg

~    ~    ~     ~     ~

Our house was along the edge of a fairly dense wooded area.  If you walked through the woods – what seemed like miles but was probably a couple hundred feet – you would reach the Potomac River.  I often played in the woods.  Despite having frequent run-ins with snakes and large spiders on our porch, it didn’t bother me to be in the woods.  Especially if I was performing. My active imagination and desire to be a performer put me “on stage” on a regular basis.  My stage was a large giant rock that was covered with moss.  I would spend hours in the woods, singing to anyone or anything that would listen.  Just me and my stage.

~   ~    ~    ~    ~  

In first grade, Mrs. Thompson asked us all to take out our Math workbooks and open to page 85.  We’d just returned from recess and no one was paying attention.  I obeyed and then surveyed the situation.  I went up to Mrs. Thompson, sensing her frustration with the class.  I said, “Mrs. Thompson.  Would you like to know what I’m doing after school today?”  Mrs. Thompson snapped at me and told me no!  (hindsight…I see the error of my ways)  I headed back to my desk and fought back the tears.  Then Eddie Alexander threw up and we all got recess again.

~   ~    ~    ~    ~

My first sleepover was to be a my friend Megan’s house.  We went with her family to the big mall (seriously, even now – this mall is HUGE!) and ate pizza at the food court.  Then off to a movie.  A classic….Mannequin.  Then back home.  As with all sleepovers from that evening forward, it failed.  Around midnight I threw in the towel and called my parents to come pick me up.  Good thing we lived one block away.  To this day, seeing Andrew McCarthy brings back that memory.

mannequin1.jpg

 More later…

~ by zuzu on April 4, 2008.

One Response to “From the mind of a 6-year-old.”

  1. Those are great! I love the fighting (my brothers and I fought all the time), and the performing in the woods.

Leave a Reply

 
