Number 100

** Before I get into my 100th post, I’d like to share with you a video of my Mabel on two-legs.  **

Now on with the actual post.

I’m rather surprised that I have already writtn 99 posts.  I feel like number 100 should be monumental.  Ground-breaking.  A true celebration of what my writing is.  But it’s not going to be.  I’m taking this opportunity to tell you 50 random things about me (I was going to do 100, but I think we would all lose interest around 50).  From that, you can let me know what you’d like to hear more about – if there is something.  I’m sure that there will be stuff that doesn’t warrant further detail and some that does.  You choose!

1.  I am finding that choosing #1 is hard.  This list is going to be in random order, but it seems like number one should neither be too random nor too important.
2.  I have been to 19 of the United States.
3.  On an average day, I drive 82 miles. 
4.  My iPod playlist has everything from the soundtrack to Les Mis to Eminem.
5.  My favorite donut is lemon-filled.  Preferably glazed versus powdered.
6.  I once attended a party where the only food served was the color orange, however no oranges were served.
7.  My eyes are too expressive.  I’m not very good at hiding my true feelings because my eyes tell it all.  (I’ve been told this on multiple occassions)
8.  I always have ginger with me – candy, capsules, tea…
9.  Sometimes I plan my outfits around which shoes I want to wear.  Ok.  Most of the time I do that…
10.  I hate 99.999% of video games, but I love Tetris.
11.  My favorite hairclip is a product of theft.  I was not the thief.
12.  I’m 5′ 11″ barefoot.
13.  I’d rather be reading.  Most of the time.
14.  My preference is to leave dirty dishes in the sink and clean them the next day before I make dinner. 
15.  My bedtime is 11 PM.
16.  I wrote a letter to Santa once and asked for a teddy bear to be left at the foot of my bed.  When I woke up on Christmas there was a blond-fur teddy bear.  I named him Beary. He held a ball between Velcro pads on his front paws.
17.  I used to perform “shows” where I would lip sync to oldies.  My audience was made up solely of my parents.
18.  My non-alcoholic beverage of choice is iced coffee. My alcoholic beverage of choice is either wine or gin & tonic.
19.  I am married to my best friend.
20.  When I was little I wanted to be a veterinarian.
21.  I went to Universal Studios when I was 9.  The thing I remember most about it is that King Kong had banana breath.
22.  I have never been on a roller coaster.
23.  One of the most repulsive smells to me is wet peanut butter. But I LOVE peanut butter.
24.  I was hospitalized for a kidney infection for 4 days.
25.  If I had been a boy, I would have been named Justin.
26.  I will come completely unglued if there is a bat around.  As in flying rodent, not something you’d find at a baseball game.
27.  If I were independently wealthy, I would do a lot of things, but I would definitely buy the Heavenly Bed (and pillows) that they sell through the Westin Hotel.
28.  My first kiss was not good.
29.  I have never put artificial color in my hair.  And I never will.
30.  I am allergic to penicillin.  However, I took it every day for months when I was younger because I tested positive as a carrier of TB. 
31.  I mow my lawn on a riding mower and sing very loudly at the same time.  It’s such fun!
32.  My first cat was Foofy and I didn’t pick her up until I was 6.  It was on the morning we had to put her down.  I still regret being afraid to pick her up until that day.
33.  I’m somewhat freaking out that I’ll be turning 30 this year.
34.  I had to carry a plastic bag in my backpack in elementary school because the bus made me motion sick.
35.  When I was 8, I road my bike around a 12 mile island in Maine.
36.  I love butter.  I hate butter substitutes.
37.  Once I fell and a pencil was sticking out of a book I was holding.  The pencil went into my elbow and there is still graphite visible below the skin.  Good thing pencils aren’t made of lead anymore!
38.  I have never seen any of the Indiana Jones movies.  Or Die Hard.
39.  I would like to get certified as a dog groomer (if that’s what groomers do) and change my career to that at some point.
40.  I’m superstitious about many things.
41.  I have an uncle who lives in Germany and he comes to the U.S. once a year for a month.  In that time he is turning a church into a home in Maine.
42.  I went white water rafting in 8th grade.
43.  My favorite store is Target.  I get into a lot of trouble there…
44.  The best form of relaxation for me is “Greeting Card Therapy.”  I’ll go to stores and read cards and buy those that I know will be perfect for someone someday.  I send actual cards – in the mail – to people on a regular basis. 
45.  One day I WILL pet a large, undomesticated, wild cat. At this point I don’t care which kind.  I just HAVE to do it.
46.  The best French fries ever were from the dining halls at URI.  At least they were 10 years ago.
47.  I don’t “get” Grey’s Anatomy.  What’s the appeal?
48.  Loathe is the best way to describe how I feel about doing laundry.  All of it.  Hate. Hate. Hate it.
49.  I have a moment of road rage every morning when the special person in front of me doesn’t move in to the appropriate lane and then stops in the middle of the highway and puts on his blinker.  I don’t like that special person.  That special person raises my ire.
50.  I want more people to read and comment on my blog. 

~ by zuzu on May 13, 2008.

8 Responses to “Number 100”

  1. i can’t believe you put that video of mabel on the list post! i’m amazed she can do that! how…?wha…? …huh…?

  2. ok, back to the list: 30 was AWESOME. it was one of the best years ever. please report back when you’re 31 to concur!
    next, i LOVE standing in the card aisle cracking up! love the xmas teddy bear tale. i hate mowing the lawn and love doing laundry.

    as of #50: i want the same. and i love your blog because you’re a real person with interesting thoughts and compassion toward animals.

  3. Bring on the next 50!

  4. OK – FIRST! MABEL is amazing! That was really really cool. What a trooper! DOes the cast help her balance? crazy…

    #23. I am not sure I know what wet peanut butter smells like! Not only am I unsure HOW to prepare that to find out, but I’m thinking I won’t. I’m with you on #28. I think I, too, suffer from #44.

    I’ve written 100 things about me but have yet to post it. WELL DONE and Happy 100 posts!

  5. Wow, what circus did you get Mabel from??? That’s quite a trick!

  6. Yay for 100 posts!! and hobbes does wish mabel the best, hope she gets better soon! good luck with your therapy!

  7. paperback writer
    paperback writerrrrr

  8. […] 4, 2008 by elizabethews My 100th post was not that long ago and in that post I made mention of a memory of King Kong’s banana breath […]

Leave a Reply

 
