Weekend starts early

The event that was all consuming (hence my less than frequent posting) has concluded.  Today at 5 PM I said good-bye to the recent bane of my existence.  And although it was a horrible lead up, I have to say it turned out to be one of my most successful events to date at this location.  It is so great to walk the show floor and chat with exhibitors and show management and hear that they are having a great show.  They share their feedback for making it better next year.  The key words being “next year”.  It’s a strong two words that in this business you just LOVE to hear.  Also hearing from the person – who irritated me to no end – that she thought I was fantastic (not to toot my own horn, but to put up with her, I am fantastic!) is a really wonderful feeling. 

But that is over and it’s on to the next (boxing…that should be an interesting one!).  Before that, however, tomorrow is Friday.  Friday (this week) is the first day of my weekend. 

My plan?

First:  I plan to sleep in.  Whether that is 7:30 or 10:30, I just don’t care.  As long as there is no alarm clock involved I’ll be happy.

Second:  My first pedicure of the season.  Much wanted and much needed after walking about 10 miles today in 3-inch heels (alternating with the Softspots so I could make it through all 13 hours). 

Third: Hoping in the Mazda with my iPod and/or an audio-book and heading on down to beautiful, sunny…

New Jersey!!!  WHOO HOO!!!

(is that the sound of crickets?  why?  what’s wrong with New Jersey?)

Well, I happen to like New Jersey and I happen to like that my best friend/college roommate lives there.  I don’t get to see her very often and I’m super excited about the trip.  Saturday happens to be her bridal shower.  She’s getting married in one month in the Bahamas (ah, there’s the excitement) so the next month is going to involve a couple road trips to the Garden State and my first plane flight in 15 years.  (It being a wedding event, means multiple dresses, which means multiple new pairs of shoes…but I digress)

So I’m very excited to go to Jersey and see my girl.  She rocks.  We have had such amazing times together – so much laughter.  That’s what we do best together: LAUGH. 

As we move into the month prior to her wedding – about which I am thrilled – I suspect that the Jersey stories will be flowing.  Or maybe not because they may only be entertainment for me.  We’ll see. 

Jersey here I come!

 

~ by zuzu on June 5, 2008.

4 Responses to “Weekend starts early”

  1. Do you like those softspots? I’m in need of a trade show shoe that still resembles something cute and I’ve been looking at them, but wanted a real life opinion.

  2. Our friends used to live down in Nutley, NJ. It smelled kinda funny along the turnpike, but once you got to Nutley it was fine …

  3. Thanks, re comment! Not often I say anything quotable!
    Your weekend sounds like it will be great fun.

  4. Hi, remember me? Yeah, I know. I’m catching up and starting here. Hope you had a great time in Jersey.

Leave a Reply

 
