Early Reviewers ~ Loose Girl

I haven’t been reading my Early Reviewers books as soon as them come.  I’m back logged, so when some actually get reviewed they will have been in stores for some time.  I did read this one on time though and for you, I have my review!

Loose Girl: A Memoir of Promiscuity by Kerry Cohen

I’m always hesitant to offer much of an opinion on a memoir.  The formal definition of a memoir:

1.

a record of events written by a person having intimate knowledge of them and based on personal observation.

2.

Usually, memoirs.

a.

an account of one’s personal life and experiences; autobiography.

b.

the published record of the proceedings of a group or organization, as of a learned society.

3.

a biography or biographical sketch.

Then who am I to judge?  These are supposed actual events of this woman’s life, and if that is the case, the first emotion that immediately comes to mind is: sympathy. 

As a young girl (eleven) Kerry immediately throws herself into a world of promiscuity.  She is intimate with any man who will look her way.  She needs to feel wanted more desperately than a typical teenage girl needs.  Striving for attention, she is not necessarily a “bad” girl, but she makes poor decisions. Sadly the lessons that one should take from their poor decisions is lost on Cohen.

The book travels from age 11 until early adulthood.  Although on the shorter side (in # of pages) the story becomes very repetitive.  Rather than accounting for her mistakes and the help she seeks to mend her ways, Cohen recaps each and every (I assume) boy* she encounters.

Her experiences became formulaic and predictable:  girl meets boy; girl & boy drink & do lines of coke; girl & boy have sex; boy never calls girl; girls starts all over.  Or girl meets boy; girl get super clingy; boy leaves girl. After the first 5 or 10 of the episodes, it begs the question, “Why are you doing this to yourself?”

And that question gets asked, but in my opinion after 200 pages there does not seem to be any light shed on the answer to that. 

It all made me feel sorry for her current husband.  Much of this I’m sure he knew about (or at least he does now!), but to not have had the proper closure to these issues seems like moving forward on very thin ice. 

I would be very inclined to pick up a sequel, should Cohen decide to focus more on the therapy she has had.  (She mentions therapy minimally in Loose Girl, but more to highlight that she is seeking/has sought help.)  In general I would rate it 3 out of 5.

 * Cohen uses the term boy rather than man to describe each of her affairs; I’m not sure if this was a deliberate way to point out that these men were lacking in maturity or if it was just how she viewed them.  Either way, the term boy became distracting as it often conjures a different image than what was probably intended. 

 

~ by zuzu on June 22, 2008.

5 Responses to “Early Reviewers ~ Loose Girl”

  1. This book intrigued me because of the first-person take on the subject matter, however I have yet to read it. Now I’m holding back a little more. It reminded me of some of the issues that come up in my book, An Island Away, but in a different context. In my book, it is the men who repeat the scenario (but not as often) described here. Anyway… something to think about: http://www.bentpage.wordpress.com. Thanks for the review.

  2. I am feeling a little memoired-out lately. I know the whole point is to talk about their experience but after 200 pages of me, me, me, me, I, me, I, me, me, me,I…. I get a little tired of it. But maybe thats what people think when they read my blog. Thanks for the review.

  3. I’ll ask it again…does the book have pictures? 🙂

  4. Pretty outstanding to write a book about those behaviors, though, isn’t it? I’ll have to flip it when it comes to the library, and maybe I’ll give it a go!

  5. I think I will skip this. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
