I know I said I wasn’t going to talk about it.

BUT – I’ve been to the gym on a regular basis since I joined and I’m super excited by my dedication.  That, however, is not the point of this post. 

One of my concerns with joining a gym was the people.  I knew there were going to be a lot of skinny girls, wearing their tight little pants and teeny-tiny shirts to show off the flat abs and who did their hair & make up to go to the gym in that way that says “I didn’t do my hair & make up to come to the gym.”  Oh, but you did and we know it.  I also expected a ton of meatheads who grunted when they lifted weights and I would be overwhelmed with the urge to go up to them, tap them on the shoulders and say, “excuse me, um, but no one cares… you’re obnoxious.” 

Imagine my surprise – this is NOT what I’ve encountered.  Of course a few of those people slipped through the cracks, but most of the people are what I would like to classify as “Normal.”  Sweatpant-wearing, T-Shirt-wearing, average body type sportin’ people.  I dig it.  I like that I don’t feel self-conscious.  It’s good.

Then on Sunday, I ran into the other person I expected.  The loud guy.  The guy who has to let everyone know he’s in the room. 

I heard this over my iPod which was up fairly loud.  And the volume that I heard (muted by music) was Loud. 

Hey Buddy!
Yeah, I’m at the gym.
Yup… yeah, I’m doing some cardio.
See you at the house in about an hour?
I gotta finish my cardio and then do some weights.  So about and hour.
So how ya been?

If you haven’t gathered, this is one-sided conversation as “Buddy” is on the other end of this guy’s cell phone.

So here are my questions:

WHO talks on their cell phone while exercising?
WHY would anyone want to talk on the cell phone while panting like a dog?
WHY do you need to talk that loud?
How come the other guy who decided to talk on his cell phone was not audible but this dude was audible enough for everyone?

Just curious.

~ by zuzu on September 17, 2008.

5 Responses to “I know I said I wasn’t going to talk about it.”

  1. Yeah for finding a gym where you are comfortable! Gyms always make me feel like the one person who was not invited to the party; like everyone else knows what they should be doing and where they should be doing it and I was absent the day they explained it. It’s pathetic.

  2. OMG, I think that guy was at the Westerly Y this morning. Doing his CAAAAHDIO!
    Love your people sightings.

  3. It’s been demonstrated that I won’t go to the gym no matter how nearby it is, so I just use the Bowflex at home. But even then I don’t make phone calls while I’m exercising!

  4. There is the girl at my gym who does that and she is so obnoxious. Her whole persona is obnoxious — big hair, big jewelry, LOUD VOICE ON THE BIKE.

    Seriously, it is awful.

  5. i’ve been thinking i might wear stilletos and live on a farm.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

 
