Scenes From the Red Recliner

It’s been 10 days since I came home after surgery and I’ve been in the same spot for 75% of the time (the other time has been in my bed).

I’ve been sitting in the same red recliner with my incidentals:  glass of water, Excedrin Back & Body (don’t need the heavy-duty stuff anymore), cell phone, laptop, a few books (one non-fiction, one chick-lit, & one that I can read “at”), a couple magazines (Real Simple, Food & Wine), note cards & pens & address book (to send thank you notes promptly to those kind people who sent flowers and other niceties), a blanket, a pillow, a pad of paper (I’ve been taking copious notes about just about everything) and the remote control.  All is within an arms length, but I’m more mobile now, so I keep rearranging the items to keep it fresh.

I take regular short walks to the bathroom which is on this floor. I only have to conquer stairs once in the morning and once in the evening to get up to bed.  The first few days I couldn’t lie down (too uncomfortable) so I slept in the red recliner.  I didn’t attempt the stairs or the bed until night 4 and that didn’t work.  Night 5 I found a way to make it work.

From my chair I can see:
** My TV:  Regular features include – Will & Grace, gems like The Hills, Family Guy, some talk shows, & VH1 Marathons.  I am very much looking forward to the upcoming week when MTV will replay the Britney Spears special that is on tonight.

** About 1/12 of my kitchen counter.  Unfortunately, it is the 1/12 that is right next to the kitchen sink, so I can also see the pile of dishes that is gradually getting higher.  Wade has been taking care of everything, so this is by no means a complaint.  I just wish that I could bend over so I’d be able to take the currently clean dishes out of the washer and put the dirty ones in.  But, alas, I cannot do that.

** Mabel & Alex sleeping.  Periodically they relocate to another spot on the couch or on the floor.

** Franklin & Chloe who are both loving that there is a perpetual lap on which they can nap. 

** The rug that really needs to be vacuumed!

So as you can see, there isn’t a lot of inspiration.  Anything you want to hear about?  I have the time to tell you!

~ by zuzu on November 30, 2008.

9 Responses to “Scenes From the Red Recliner”

  1. you’re going to be quite sick of that chair!

    try to keep your spirits up. maybe time will go by quickly because of the holidays.

    here is a pretty snide and sassy website to read if you need some mindless entertainment. i’ve laughed pretty hard at a couple of the recipe cards a couple years ago:

    http://www.candyboots.com/wwcards.html

  2. Okay: Your blog title intrigues me. How did you and Wade meet? Or, what made a farmer and a fashionista decide to give each other more than a first glance? Or was Wade a high-powered executive who decided to abandon the rat race and go “back to the land” ? Inquiring romantics want to know!

  3. i like the red chair….

  4. Hang in there! I know what it is like to be bedridden for 11weeks! Shopping online sounds like a blast to me!! luckily you do have the holidays to entertain you a bit!! we all have mondays off at the seaport perhaps we should have a field trip to your house!!??

  5. “Scenes from the Red Recliner” … sounds like a one-act play! At least the animals are getting a long-term lap. Tucker would love that.

  6. Good point Hallie! Take advantage of cyber Monday and get your holiday shopping out of the way! Heck…I might pay you to do some of mine.

  7. Okay, check out craftastrophe and cake wreck, that will give you a few moments of levity.
    Say hello to my boyfriend on Miami Vice.

    And get better soon!

  8. So – I’m reading what you wrote and get stuck at:

    ** …… I just wish that I could bend over so I’d be able to……….

    And, I inserted my BIG LAUGH OUT LOUD…..because….well…..obviously I had something else run through my brain then.

    Mike’s got nothin’ can fill you in. 🙂

    ahahahahah.

  9. I have every intention of visiting you but I have just been diagnosed with bronchitis and a sinus infection and Matthew has bronchitis and a perforated ear drum because of an ear infection. Yeah, you want us around!

Leave a Reply

 
