Blackout & Blue Men

Wade went to Honduras. 

August 14, 2003 – The giant blackout in the Northeast

August 15, 2003 – Wade’s plane is scheduled to land at Logan Airport late evening.  The plan was that he would take the shuttle from the airport to the hotel we stayed in before he left.  I waited patiently (not really) in the hotel.  I watched TV, attempted to read and checked his flight status every 45 seconds.  By midnight, I had not heard from him, but the horrible recorded airline lady had informed me that his flight had been cancelled.  After midnight he called after being stuck in the Miami airport for hours.  The airline put him up in a 7 room suite in a fancy hotel for the night since that was the only room left.  Due to the blackout, there were flight cancellations & delays.  He’d fly out the next day. 

August 16, 2003 – Wade’s flight wouldn’t be in until that night, so I headed back to my parents’ house to wait.  And I was sick. As a dog.  My mom thought this was due to nerves and excitement.  She went to the store and bought me ginger and I slept on their couch until it was time to drive back to Boston.  This time I went directly to the airport. The flight was on time and I waited for his arrival by the baggage claim. 

I won’t make you all nauseous with the sappy time-stood-still-we-were-the-only-ones-in-the-airport reunion.  But it was clear that Wade had not, in fact, fallen in love with a Honduran village lady.  He loved me. 

And so we fast forward through moving into his house together, getting Alex, our first Christmas, multiple Land Rover purchases, and other fine moments.

Valentine’s Day 2005 – We aren’t much for the holiday, but Wade surprised me a gift.  The following weekend he was taking me to Boston to see Blue Man Group!  Whooo-hoo!! How FUN!!! We went up for the night and had dinner at Legal Seafood.  We were bantering and laughing and having a great time as we always to and our waitress (Kristen is her name) said to us, “So, how long have you two been married?”  We told her we weren’t married and she found it hard to believe.  During dinner we talked about what Kristen said and we decided we should get married.  We told Kristen about it when she brought our check.  She said we made her night.

The next day we had plans to go to the Science Museum, but instead went to the Diamond District.  We looked at rings and Wade handed me one that was the exact opposite of what I was looking at.  “What do you think of this?” he asked.  I burst into happy tears. “This is the one,” he told the salesman. 

(This has nothing to do with anything, but to this day I SWEAR we passed Marc Summers – host of Food Network’s Unwrapped & Double Dare – on the street outside the store.  Wade claims it wasn’t him.  But if it wasn’t him, why when I said, “Did you see who that was!!??” he replied “It wasn’t him.” YES IT WAS!!!)

Wade walked around with the ring in his pocket for almost three months.  He told me he was waiting for the “Right” moment.  I was pretty sure that any moment would have been the right moment.

The on April 9 I was chatting with my mom on line and suddenly Wade drove up our driveway and onto our lawn.  He jumped out of the truck and was wearing a sports coat.  He ran in the house, grabbed me and pulled me outside to the porch.  He proposed.  He had just returned from getting my parents’ blessing (my mom didn’t even hint at that…) and as soon as he had it he could not get home fast enough. 

I said yes.

And the rest, my friends, is history.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Happy 36th Birthday to my Love.

~ by zuzu on December 4, 2008.

9 Responses to “Blackout & Blue Men”

  1. Happy Birthday Wade… the perfect man for a wonderful woman.

  2. Oh that’s so sweet it made me cry a little! I love it.

    Happy Birthday to Wade!

  3. Why did I never hear this proposal story before? LOVE IT. Happy birthday, Wade!

  4. Hey, no fair making me cry before lunch!
    What a beautiful story: the trial apartness, the blessing of your parents, the blessing of the waitress… sigh… Thank you for sharing.

  5. I had a similar story, but I ended up getting together with the Honduran Village woman.

  6. I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Kate

    http://educationonline-101.com

  7. Awww. that is so sweet. Happy belated birthday Wade!!

  8. This has been a beautiful story! (Oh – oops, this is CuriousC on my other blog, fyi…)

  9. Love it–thought I could have used a few more installments, since you tell it so well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
