Interview

My dear friend Sara posted a recent interview over at If I Had to Pick Five and I asked her to interview me – I’m in need of inspiration!  Here are the five questions (and their answers):

 
Why did you start a blog?

I started a blog for a couple of reason.  The first being that I claimed that I was a writer on a regular basis, however, in reality I hardly ever wrote.  I enjoy writing and I think I”m good at it, but until the blog my writing was more in my head and never made it to paper.  I decided to end the charade and put it down in actual writing so I could legitimately call myself a writer.  The second reason was because I had blog envy.  I read Molly‘s and Mike‘s blogs daily and I would read the comments and comment back and I liked the community they were gathering.  So after being envious for awhile, I just decided to do it!  Now I have my own community!
 
What was your dream job when you were 11?  Why did or didn’t you pursue it?

When I was 11, I wanted to be a veterinarian.  My obvious love of animals has been with me since day 1.  I held onto the veterinarian idea for awhile.  In fact, in junior high I decided I’d take Latin since I knew it would help with medical terms in the future.  Then in high school I took biology and that put an end to pursuing that route.  I couldn’t dissect the fish.  It was a small, generic-type fish… a trout or something and I couldn’t do it.  It made me gag.  Also, I am way to sensitive and get WAY too attached to animals.  The more I thought about it, I didn’t know if I would be able to make those hard decisions and then have to execute them. 

I still toy with the idea of going back to that dream.  It is not something I have fully left behind.  
 
What is your first memory?

I’m not sure if this counts.  I remember it clearly. Once I share what it is, you’ll probably think that I have a screw loose and you’ll never read my blog again.  However, my first “memory” is associated with the reason we moved for the first house I lived in to the second.  I’m fully convinced – although I know it is not possible – that the reason we moved it because Pinocchio lived at the top of the stairs.  As mentioned in previous post(s), I had a fear of Pinocchio.  The one that lived at the top of the stairs was a full-grown human-sized balloon Pinocchio!  And so, we moved.
 
How have you been impacted by the kindness of a stranger?

I’ve had the pleasure of a stranger’s kindness on more than one occasion.  Two of which I’ve posted about here and here
 
What is something your readers know about you that your friends or family might not?

Members of my family read my blog, so now there is no distinction.  But, I think my readers knew about my Emetephobia before I really completely shared that with my family.  My mom – knowing me sometimes better than I know myself – was not surprised by my “confession,” but she didn’t know to the degree that I was affected by the phobia.  Writing about it has been a great form of therapy and it has helped me open up about it more my my family.  So I thank you for reading and helping me through it. 

Now – anyone want to be interviewed?  Comment here and I’ll send you 5 random questions in the spirit of If I Had to Pick Five.  Thanks, Sara!

~ by zuzu on January 23, 2009.

8 Responses to “Interview”

  1. so i have already done one of these, but i love your blog and am so interested in the questions you will send me! so sign me up!!

  2. p.s: your interview was great!

  3. I Love your blog!!! I am writing this comment to let you know that in going through the blogs tonight, that yours was amazing and caught my eye!! I am new to wordpress and am trying to show everyone my website http://www.wreathconnection.com and of course to make new friends. Please check out my blog as well at http://wreathconnection.wordpress.com and let me know what you think!! I Hope to see you there!!

  4. I’m game, if you’d like.
    I can really relate to your answer to the first question. People who regularly read my stuff without me having to pay them — I’ve arrived! 🙂
    Btw, there’s a photo for you on today’s entry, “Six for Six”. Hope you can drop by!

  5. I haven’t done one yet, so me!

  6. Great answers!

  7. love this….i had a blast being interviewed, too….and so i gave you blog envy, eh? Hmmm…. 😉

  8. Thanks for the interview questions! I’ve posted the answers already. That was fun!

Leave a Reply

 
