Today’s post is brought to you by the letter “D”

With guidance from my friend Sara at If I Had to Pick Five, I have been given the task of listing ten things that begin with the letter “D” that I love.  I’m ready to take on such a feat! She told me that I can use her husband as one of the “D”s but I’ll only do so if I get stuck on number 9.  I do love D though.  He’s a D-light!

1.  Donuts – They are bad for you, but I just don’t care.  I want donuts most every day of my life.  I don’t have them every day.  I hardly ever have them, but I do love them.  Specifically the apple fritters from the Colchester Bakery and Krispy Kreme lemon filled.  Oh, and I love the chocolate covered lemon filled that Dunkin’ Donuts used to have but they don’t have anymore. 😦

2.  Dogs –  Obviously.  My dogs are my kids.  Or have you not noticed?  I like to think that I am just teetering need that line that separates the crazy dog people from the just-really-like-dogs-a-lot people.  If I stand on the line or cross over to crazy, someone needs to tell me please.

3.  Dirt – My red wine of choice is anything that tastes like dirt.  The more dirt the better.  I once had a fabulous glass of Cline Mourverde Ancient Vine… It was like drinking a glass of  mud. Mmmmm. It’s a difficult wine to track down, but it is worth it.  You know, if you like dirt.

4.  Drama – I love the theater and I am a theater snob.  Put me in an audience of a Broadway, Off-Broadway, Community or otherwise theater and suddenly I turn into a theater critic.  This goes for other on-stage performances too.  For example, my Mum and I went to the ballet on Sunday afternoon and at the end of Act I we immediately started critiquing.  I can’t dance to save my life, but I sure as heck can critique it like a pro!  (It wasn’t good…)

5.  Dane Cook – I’d like to officially go on record by saying that I loved Dane Cook before he was super-famous.  I saw him a few times when he performed at Dennis Leary’s Comics Come Home in Boston.  Way back when he was mellow(ish)…way back in the day… Now he’s all popular and everyone thinks he’s the best.  And he’s hot.  Well, he’s always been hot. BUT I LOVED HIM FIRST!!!  Y’all just followed my lead.  You could call me a trend setter.  Sadly (for Dane), I don’t dig him nearly has much now that he’s not my little-known-treasure.

    But he’s still hot.

6.  Dallas, the Theme Song for – I have a special place in my heart for the opening theme song.  Dallas came on at 9pm on Friday nights when I was little.  My dad would let me stay up to listen to the song and then it was time for bed.  At the time ‘Who shot JR?’ just didn’t matter…it was all about the fabulous tune.

7.  D’Orsay – This are one of my top favorite style of shoe.  A two-piece pump such as here:

  For those of you keeping track, you can refer back to my shoe art and please note that the wedding shoes were D’Orsay.  Not a coincidence!

8.  Dean Koontz – He is my mindless, quick-read, guilty-pleasure author.  I have 95% of his books – most I paid $1 for.  If one of his books is available on audio, I’ll grab it for the car (from the library, of course).  He gets me every time.  I dig him…and I don’t really dig Stephen King

9.  Ducks, Male Mallard – I think they are beautiful and I want one.  I need to brush up on my ornithology and get a pond, but when that is set, I’d like to get myself a nice male mallard.

    Sorry ladies, you’re just not as pretty.

10.  This is a lot harder than I thought it would be, so I’m going with the aforementioned husband of Sara, D.  He is wonderful.  I liked him the second I met him.  He’s a perfect match for my friend and I’m so happy they found each other.  He’s funny (so funny) and kind and handsome and funny and just a really, really good guy.  And I don’t see him or Sara enough. 

The End.  Yay for D!

11.  Holy Crap!!!  DIAMOND, NEIL!!!!!! But that goes without saying (because I already did!).

~ by zuzu on February 11, 2009.

4 Responses to “Today’s post is brought to you by the letter “D””

  1. !!!!
    it is embarrassing how hard i laugh at dane cook. i love love love him!

  2. I would just like to say that I knew of Dane Cook BEFORE YOU! I love him… but like you not as much as CCH days.

    AND

    Maybe I shouldn’t tell you this, but my DDs make choco covered lemon filled donuts….. I can get them whenever you want. You probably didn’t want to know that 😉

    • Yes, you knew Dane first. But I love him more. 🙂
      And I think I knew about your DDs having those donuts. They bake on site, right? I remember after my bachelorette you had a variety of munchkins that was crazy! Love it!

  3. So cute! And D loves you and W right back. We must get together soon!

Leave a Reply

 
