Back in the shoes

Daily, since the start of my physical therapy after my surgery, I have been trying to stand on my toes on just my right foot.  I haven’t been able to do this now since November and my physical therapist told me that once I could do that, I was well on my way to being better.  So every day I’ve tried.  I stand with my hand against the wall, I left with my left and that works.  Then I left with my right and I can’t do it.  I’ve tried starting off on both feet and then lifting my left and *boom* right down on the floor. 

It’s been nothing short of extemely frustrated. 

And then a few weeks ago, I did it!  I stood on my right foot on my toes for ONE WHOLE SECOND.  And I cried.  I was so excited.  Wade’s response: “You’re awfully emotional tonight.”  Yes, I was.  I had reason to be. 

Up until about a week ago, I’ve been able to hold that one second pose.  Then all of a sudden I could hold it longer.  And then a few days ago I tried to walk on my toes. And I did it!!!

So naturally?  The next step was to try out the shoes. 

It was a good day.  I was able to don the lovlies that were purchsed during my Red Recliner Days.  I wore them and stood tall.  I embraced my tallness. I even managed a strut.  My limp is going away and my distinctive strut (that I denied having) is making her way back. 

Watch out world, the stilettos are coming back.

~ by zuzu on March 16, 2009.

7 Responses to “Back in the shoes”

  1. Wheeeeeee! So exciting.

    I’ll make the monkey bread for our next bloggers gathering, sound good? 🙂

  2. That’s excellent! What a lot of patience you’ve had, all these months.

  3. Yes!!!! We need to celebrate!

  4. I missed whatever happened to you but am glad you are recovering so completely! You must be so excited!

  5. Great news! Next up, the samba!

  6. I love your strut!

Leave a Reply

 
