A black cloud over recovery

Nearly a daily occurrence, since I have been back on my feet after surgery, is twisting my ankle.  Footwear plays no role in this happening.  Flats, slippers, sneakers, and most recently heels – it just doesn’t matter. 

I’m fairly certain – without actually consulting a professional – that I have a sprained ankle.  I am unable to determine this for sure because I still can’t actually feel it, but I would guess by the perpetual swollen ankle, there really no other explanation. 

I’m sick of it.

It makes me angry that I had to have the surgery.  It makes me angry that there was no option.  I’m angry that I’m not receiving the instant gratification of immediate healing.  I’m angry that my foot and ankle refuse to catch up to the healing process in my brain.  I’m angry that my shoes sit lonely on their rack and collect dust.  I’m angry that the only feelings I have in my leg/ankle is numbness, sudden sharp pain when I have my daily twist and evening foot cramps because my foot gets tired and I don’t even know it. 

I’m most angry that this was a result of something stupid and not my fault.  But I have to be the one to deal with it.

~ by zuzu on April 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “A black cloud over recovery”

  1. Are you absolutely sure it isn’t actually broken? Be careful! Don’t want it getting worse. I’m sorry you’re having a set-back.

    • Hm. I don’t think it is broken, but what do I know? I twisted it again this morning getting in the car. I bounced back quickly from that one though.

Leave a Reply

 
