When I grow up…

I’m almost 32.  I think technically I’m either at the age, or have passed the age, when I should know what I want to do when I grow up.  Thinking back to 20 years ago, I was sure I knew what I wanted to do.  12-year-old Elizabeth was confident that she was going to be a veterinarian.  No doubt.

15-year-old Elizabeth took Biology and it became evident the veterinary science wasn’t really going to work out.

I went to college and I majored in “communications” (I have a degree in in and I’m not really all that sure what it means).  I had a very brief stint with pursuing a Business degree (vague) and I even considered being a Spanish teacher.  Can you even imagine?  A 6′ tall redhead teaching you how to conjugate verbs in Spanish?  Sadly, seven years of Spanish and I can just barely hold my own listening to a conversation in Spanish…let alone trying to come up with more than “Hola! Me llamo Isabel.”  (But give me Don Quixote and I can read it cover to cover – and understand it!)

Anyway, so here I am… accidentally thrown into a career of event management.  And I’ve decided that this is most certainly NOT what I want to be when I grow up.  But I have no idea what I want to do.

They say you’re never too old to change your career path.  I don’t necessarily buy that.  In hindsight, I do regret not going to veterinary school.  Animals has always been my passion and I should have laughed in the face of partially dissected frog, bitten the bullet and gone to vet school.  But I do think it’s too late – and I’m not feeling badly for myself, I promise.

So I need some direction.  I need some focus.  What do you think I should be when I grow up?

~ by zuzu on June 17, 2010.

One Response to “When I grow up…”

  1. I think a lot of people look a look at themselves around this time in their lives and reassess. I sure did when I was 27 and went to grad school, and I’m doing it again now as a Fed. I guess there are two schools of thought on this sort of thing. One is experiential – try new things, see what you like and do those, and see what you don’t like and avoid that stuff. I think this is pretty valid. The other is the more planfull way – make a list of the things you like to do, or would like to try, and find a way to make careers out of those likes. Which works better? Let me know if you find out 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
